安排会议

Session scheduling with a whiteboard

在短暂的

1) 将空白的时间表在线. 2) 征集会议提案 开始您的THATCamp之前. 3) 统计时隙和会议提案. 4) 如果你有更多的建议,比时隙, 征集投票 您的参与者的会话. 5) 指派专人 创建一个时间表草案. 6) 讨论和修改 与参加者的日程草案. 7) 您的非会议继续进行.

将空白的时间表在线

,在你THATCamp甚至开始, 发布空白 (外壳) 计划在网上列出了时间和会议室, 任何预先安排的事件 (例如 工作坊). 这可以帮助您的参与者想象你的未来形态的THATCamp. 很多人都用过谷歌文档的电子表格程序,这与取得巨大成功. 下面是一个示例 空白THATCamp时间表 在谷歌文档进行复制,如果你喜欢. 这里是嵌入此页面上的时间相同的空白:

要发布谷歌文档的电子表格 “文件 > 发布到Web > 开始出版”. 然后, 在标有 “公布的数据获取链接,” 选择 “嵌入在网页中的HTML” 从下拉菜单中. “计划”页面上,在您的网站上,并粘贴到WordPress的页面,使用 “文本” (以前 “HTML”) 选项​​卡. 需要注意的是在最THATCamp网站,你可以腾出更多的空间,为您的日程安排,没有侧边栏,通过设置一列模板的页面模板 — 而在WordPress编辑您的日程安排, 寻找一个下拉框标记 “模板” 在左边, 然后选择一列模板. 您可以通过增加或减少的值调整嵌入电子表格中的高度和宽度的 “高度” 和 “宽度” 在HTML代码中.

在一个简单的列表在您的THATCamp网站的两个时隙和房间号码的,你也可以创建一个空白的时间表, 或在一个HTML表格.

前挡住了时间考虑的几个注意事项:

  • 第一届会议的第一天,应该是调度会. 这是理想的时间量 90 分钟, 留出充足的时间用于创建, 讨论, 和修改计划. 一个小时是最低的. 投票大多发生在调度会议开始之前, 在不定期的检查和喝咖啡的时间.
  • 它总是一个好主意,安排 总结会议 所有参加者在每一天结束至少15分钟. 人们需要关闭. 主办单位可能还需要后勤公布的道路情况,, 食物, 社交活动, 以及类似.
  • 同去的 介绍会议 在每一天的开始.
  • 即使是在一个非会议, 一些最好的谈话发生在走廊. 在会话之间留出时间: 至少10分钟, 或15, 甚至30.
  • 预定 “自由发挥” 会议 也是一个不错的主意会话的人可以尝试新的技术,他们已经在动手的方式学习, 和/或继续进行讨论,他们已经在会议.
  • 这是罚款预先安排一些研讨会或演讲,只要有充足的时间来unconferencing的.

征集会议提案

更独立的 会议提出建议, 页面. 只是要确保至少两个星期前,要求从您的THATCamp参与者的建议您的THATCamp开始, 或安排专门的头脑风暴在开始您的THATCamp的至少一个小时内.

统计时隙和会议提案

如果你有 24 时隙可用于会议 (例如, 4个75分钟的时间内,乘以六间房) 和 30 会议提出建议,, 你需要要求参加的会议,他们最想参加的投票. 即使你只有 20 会议提出建议,, 它仍然是一个好主意,要求参加者投票, 因为这会给你一个好主意,大的房间,需要为每个会话. 更多热门场次,可以分配在较大的房间.

争取选票的会话

第一天上班你的THATCamp, 你要预留 60-90 分钟的会议上投票. 确保每个人都有机会投票; 你要强调的 (在一封电子邮件中或在您的网站) 第一届会议将是多么的重要, 为了最大限度地出席.

我们已经看到了两个主要型号的投票过程.

一个模型, 主办单位 创建一个现实版的时间表, 运用:

  • 一个大白板, 黑板, 画架, 白色大纸或片材,可以被卡住的墙壁用胶带或类似的
  • 标记或粉笔
  • 后它注意到

开始您的THATCamp之前, 画一个 空白格 (或列表) 在白板, 黑板, 或空一张纸与相同数量的细胞 (空间) 您的日程安排电网. 随着人们聚集, 要求他们写一两句话描述他们的想法,在一个会话的细胞 (或后,他们可以把一个单元格). 请确保他们包括他们自己的名字, 会议上提出建议的需要,方便他们的会议. 然后,每个人都应该把一个的散列标记或其他表示有兴趣 (箔 “好工作” 明星在斯台普斯的工作,你可以买到) 旁边,他们有兴趣参加的会议.

这样一个物理时间表是这样的 (从THATCamp海湾地区):
THATCamp Bay Area program

第二个模型, 一些THATCamps简单 项目的时间表GoogleDoc, 在现实生活中创建一个空白的时间表,并跳过步骤. 使用这种方法, 你打印出预先写好的会议的建议从您的THATCamp的网站, 并张贴在墙上. 参与者通常会收到一张 5-10 贴纸或分配到会话中他们最喜欢的明星. (最后一分钟会议提出建议的,可以写一张纸和粘性谈谈自己的想法,为了加以考虑。)

有人问,为什么我们不启用联机会议提案的表决. 我们认为, 并可能在未来, 但我们还没有作出一个优先的主要原因是人的方法效果很好,很有趣. 不是每个人都愿意阅读所有的博客和评论的表决会议提出建议,在他们来之前在THATCamp, 而一旦他们达到了THATCamp, 几乎每个人都愿意在纸片上一杯咖啡,阅读课的标题和粘贴贴纸四处流浪.

如果你有足够的时间在调度会议, 你也可以选择让每个人都提出一个会话站起来,说几句话, 然后测量以举手方式表决,而不是由贴票. 此方法也适用,如果你还没有得到许多建议,. 如果你只有几个会议提出建议,, 说 10 为24插槽时间表的建议, 你也可以使用调度会议,头脑风暴.

指派专人建立一个时间表草案

在已投的票, 和,而参加者品尝咖啡或早餐或听开场白 DORK短裤, 一个或两个组织者应该从中总结出票, 创建一个时间表草案 输入会话的标题和推动者名到空白的时间表,.

虽然大多数的决定已通过民主投票过程, 人的时间表草案也有一些君主的权力,以顺利运行的时间表编辑结果. 会议提出建议,可以结合其他的参与者兴趣不​​大, 相关会议, 或完全消除. 会议可以放在 “轨道” 相关主题的会议,而不是在同一时间发生连续. 只是一定要解释你做了什么,当你把日程草案的人.

明显, 得票最多的会议应投入最大的房间, 和, 如果可能的话,可取, 成不同的时隙. 一定要 提出了会议的人输入名称 随着进程的标题; 这个人应该知道,他们将需要作为促进. 应该留给一个突出的屏幕上,让参与者可以把它作为他们开始新的一天的时间表.

讨论和修改日程草案

一旦你, 或您指定的时间表制造商, 填写建议会议的日程表, 返回到您的参加, 项目完成的时间表, 并听取他们的意见. 不要会话时序有意义的? 曾有人提出一个会话,然后定了之后,他们需要离开? 做任何主题的冲突不应该? 有谁愿意在最后一分钟提出任何? 所有在场的主持人? 否则, 其他人将自愿执行该次会议? 相应地修改计划.

您的非会议继续进行

这是一个好主意,打印完成的时间表,并把它传递给参加, 以及发布外会话室. 您也可以保持日程安排中央显示器上, 和大多数计划应该大约在移动设备上读取.

然后有一个很大的非会议!

样品时间表

 

 

RCHN Mellon Mellon

Schedule sessions

Session scheduling with a whiteboard

In brief

1) Put a blank schedule online. 2) Call for session proposals before your THATCamp begins. 3) Count the time slots and the session proposals. 4) If you have more proposals than time slots, solicit votes on sessions from your participants. 5) Assign someone to create a draft schedule. 6) Discuss and revise the draft schedule with the participants. 7) Proceed with your unconference.

Put a blank schedule online

Before your THATCamp even begins, post a blank (shell) schedule online that lists time slots and rooms, along with any pre-scheduled events (such as workshops). This helps your participants visualize the future shape of your THATCamp. Many people have used Google Docs spreadsheets for this with great success. Here is a sample blank THATCamp schedule done in Google Docs for you to copy if you like. Here is that same blank schedule embedded on this page:

Publish the Google Doc spreadsheet by going to “File > Publish to the web > Start Publishing”. Then, in the section labeled “Get a link to the published data,” select “HTML to embed in a web page” from the dropdown box. Go to the Schedule page on your website and paste that into the WordPress page using the “Text” (formerly “HTML”) tab. Note that in most THATCamp websites you can make more room for your schedule by setting the page template to a one-column template with no sidebar — while editing your Schedule page in WordPress, look for a dropdown box labeled “Template” on the left, then choose the one-column template. You can adjust the height and width of the embedded spreadsheet by increasing or decreasing the values for “height” and “width” in the HTML code.

You can also create a blank schedule in a simple list on your THATCamp website with both time slots and room numbers listed, or in an HTML table.

A few notes to consider before blocking out time:

  • The first session of the first day should be the scheduling session. The ideal amount of time for this is 90 minutes, which leaves plenty of time for creating, discussing, and revising the schedule. One hour is minimum. Voting should mostly take place before the scheduling session begins, during unscheduled check-in and coffee-drinking time.
  • It’s always a good idea to schedule wrap-up sessions of at least fifteen minutes for all participants at the end of every day. People need closure. Organizers may also need to make logistical announcements about road conditions, food, social events, and the like.
  • Same goes for introductory sessions at the start of each day.
  • Even at an unconference, some of the best conversations take place in the hallway. Leave time between sessions: at least ten minutes, or fifteen, or even thirty.
  • Scheduled “free play” sessions are also a good idea—sessions where people can try out new technologies they’ve learned in a hands-on way, and/or continue discussions they’ve had in the sessions.
  • It’s fine to pre-schedule a few workshops or presentations as long as there’s plenty of time for unconferencing.

Call for session proposals

Much more on this on the separate session proposals page. Just be sure to call for proposals from your THATCamp participants at least a week or two before your THATCamp begins, or to arrange a dedicated brainstorming period of at least an hour at the start of your THATCamp.

Count the time slots and the session proposals

If you have 24 time slots available for sessions (e.g., four 75-minute time periods multiplied by six rooms) and 30 session proposals, you’ll need to ask participants to vote on which sessions they most want to attend. Even if you have only 20 session proposals, it’s still a good idea to ask participants to vote, since that will give you a good idea of how large a room is needed for each session. More popular sessions can be assigned to larger rooms.

Solicit votes on sessions

On the first morning of your THATCamp, you’ll want to set aside 60-90 minutes for session voting. Make sure everyone gets a chance to vote; you’ll want to emphasize (in an email or on your website) how important this first session will be, in order to maximize attendance.

We’ve seen two major models for the voting process.

In one model, organizers create a real-life version of the schedule, using:

  • A large whiteboard, chalkboard, an easel, or sheets of large white paper that can be stuck to the walls with tape or similar
  • Markers or chalk
  • Post-It notes

Before your THATCamp begins, draw a blank grid (or list) on your whiteboard, chalkboard, or empty piece of paper with the same number of cells (spaces) as your schedule grid. As people are gathering, ask them to write a word or two describing their idea for a session in one of the cells (or on a Post-It note that they can put on a cell). Make sure they include their own names, as session proposers will need to facilitate their sessions. Then everyone should put a hash mark or other indication of interest (the foil “Good Job” stars you can buy at Staples work well) beside sessions they are interested in attending.

One such physical schedule looked like this (from THATCamp Bay Area):
THATCamp Bay Area program

In a second model, some THATCamps simply project the GoogleDoc of the schedule, and skip the step of creating a blank schedule in real life. Using this method, you print out the pre-written session proposals from your THATCamp website, and post them on a wall. Participants usually receive a sheet of 5-10 stickers or stars to allocate to the sessions they like most. (Last-minute session proposers can write a few words about their idea on a sheet of paper and tack it up in order to be considered.)

Some have asked why we don’t enable online voting on session proposals. We have considered it, and may do so in the future, but the chief reason we haven’t made it a priority is that the in-person method works well and is fun. Not everyone will be willing to read all the session proposals on the blog and comment of vote on them before they arrive at the THATCamp, whereas once they arrive at THATCamp, just about everyone is willing to wander around with a cup of coffee reading session titles and pasting stickers on pieces of paper.

If you have enough time in the scheduling session, you might also choose to have everyone who proposed a session stand up and say a few words about it, then gauge votes by a show of hands instead of by stickers. This method also works if you haven’t gotten many proposals. If you have only a few session proposals, say 10 proposals for a 24-slot schedule, you can also use the scheduling session for brainstorming.

Assign someone to create a draft schedule

After the votes have been cast, and while participants are enjoying coffee or breakfast or listening to introductory remarks or Dork Shorts, one or two organizers should tally up the votes and create a draft schedule by entering session titles and facilitator names into the blank schedule.

While most of the decisions will have been made through the democratic process of voting, the people making the draft schedule do also have some monarchic power to edit the results in order to make the schedule run smoothly. Session proposals that are of little interest to participants can be combined with other, related sessions, or eliminated altogether. Sessions can be put in “tracks” so that sessions on related topics happen serially rather than at the same time. Just be sure to explain what you’ve done when you bring the draft schedule back to the people.

Obviously, sessions with the most votes should be put into the largest rooms, and, if possible and desirable, into different time slots. Be sure to enter the name of the person who proposed the session along with the session title; that person should be aware that they will need to act as facilitator. The schedule should be left up on a prominent screen so that participants can refer to it as they begin the day.

Discuss and revise the draft schedule

Once you, or your designated schedule-maker, have filled out the schedule with suggested sessions, return to your participants, project the finished schedule, and solicit their opinions. Do the session timings make sense? Has anybody proposed a session and then had it scheduled after they need to leave? Do any topics conflict that shouldn’t? Would anyone like to propose anything at the last minute? Are all the facilitators present? If not, would anyone else like to volunteer to run that session? Revise the schedule accordingly.

Proceed with your unconference

It’s a good idea to print the finished schedule and hand it out to participants, as well as to post it outside session rooms. You can also keep the schedule up on a central monitor, and most schedules should be roughly readable on mobile devices.

Then have a great unconference!

Sample schedules



RCHN Mellon Mellon