有DORK短裤


视频的的笨蛋短会议在 THATCamp CHNM 2011.

 

在短暂的

DORK短裤, 众所周知,在一些弯道 “闪电会谈,” 是短暂的 (2-分钟或3分钟) 演示中,与会者讨论当前或即将开展的项目, 展示新工具, 或拨打合作者. 最喜欢的THATCamp的, DORK短裤,目的是要尽可能的非正式. 虽然这一概念可能是不熟悉的新THATCampers, 退伍军人认为它是一个最有趣的和有用的部分,每次会议: DORK短裤让你学到很多东西在一点点的时间.

安排时间DORK短裤

一些THATCamps他们的推销员,的短裤会议午休期间举行 (如果你提供午餐). 其他THATCamps已DORK短裤期间举行的第一届会议 — 这种方式, 参加者可给予简短的发言,而其他人是一对夫妇 创建一个THATCamp计划 的其余部分的事件. 有时白痴的短裤发生在会议的最后一天的最后一次会议,. 无论你决定, 允许在至少 40-60 本次会议的纪要. 这转化为约 15-30 “会谈” 的 2 或 3 分钟中的每一.

规划DORK短裤

在会议开始前,考虑创建一个承诺DORK短节目主持人的初步清单. 您可以, 像THATCamp新英格兰 2012, 问与会者 评论的博客文章 为了创建一个非正式的主持人名单. 或, 创建一个谷歌文档的电子表格来汇总主持人’ 他们希望在其发言中使用的名称和网址, 进而 嵌入到博客文章, 喜欢 THATCamp海湾地区做. 确保你事先告诉人们,在那里他们可以给一个笨蛋短, 并提醒他们定期.

根据你的哲学, 你可能想阻止使用PowerPoint预先计划的DORK短裤. 在大多数情况下, ,主持人可以浏览他们的项目的URL, 并采取观众通过它的一些特性. 无论是演示者使用幻灯片或U​​RL, 你应该有视觉辅助工具加载前开始短裤. 如果你事先收集的网址, 使用博客文章或电子表格, 你可以打开它们之前,短裤开始了一系列的浏览器选项卡, 使人们可以将通过他们的介绍,没有提高警惕.

允许一个缓冲的时间,最后一分钟的签名者,在会议开始时加载的网址, 并用简报将其转移到演示计算机的人.

暂时不打算DORK短裤

许多主办方不要求DORK短裤主持人事先在: 他们只是DORK短裤配发, 建立一个白板或纸上, 然后再解释什么样的白痴短裤,并询问人签名支持 — 就像一个开放的麦克风.

即使你有一个良好的清单提交的主持人, 你也应该鼓励的最后一分钟的加入者. 人们往往没有意识到,直到他们看到了会议的行动,他们正在努力,该项目将是一个合适的主题一个笨蛋短的.

运行你的笨蛋短裤

时间是至关重要的. 白痴短裤,以保持两个或三个分钟的长度,可以让更多的人, 和促进的那种不拘小节,你要鼓励. 为此, 有人应保持一段时间,并作为执法者. 有些THATCamps已使用了发出大声音 (一个钟, 蜂鸣器禁忌的游戏, 一个卡祖笛, iPad或iPhone定时器,) 每个通话的结束信号; 这一抹荒谬保持亮.

RCHN Mellon Mellon

Have Dork Shorts


Video of the full dork short session at THATCamp CHNM 2011.

 

In brief

Dork shorts, known in some corners as “lightning talks,” are brief (2-minute or 3-minute) presentations in which attendees discuss current or upcoming projects, demonstrate new tools, or call for collaborators. Like most of THATCamp, Dork Shorts are meant to be as informal as possible. Although the concept might be unfamiliar to new THATCampers, veterans think it’s one of the most fun and useful parts of each meeting: Dork Shorts let you learn a lot in a little bit of time.

Scheduling a time for Dork Shorts

Some THATCamps have held their dork shorts sessions during a lunch break (if you’re providing lunch). Other THATCamps have held Dork Shorts during the very first session — that way, participants can give short presentations while a couple of other people are off creating a THATCamp schedule for the rest of the event. Sometimes dork shorts take place in the last session of the last day of the meeting. Whatever you decide, allow at least 40-60 minutes for this session. That translates to about 15-30 “talks” of 2 or 3 minutes each.

Planning Dork Shorts

Consider creating a preliminary list of committed Dork Short presenters before the session begins. You could, like THATCamp New England 2012, ask attendees to comment on a blog post in order to create an informal list of presenters. Or, create a Google Doc spreadsheet to collect presenters’ names and the URLs they want to use in their presentations, and then embed a form into a blog post, like THATCamp Bay Area did. Make sure you tell people beforehand where they can sign up to give a Dork Short, and remind them periodically.

Depending on your philosophy, you might want to discourage the use of PowerPoint even for pre-planned Dork Shorts. In most cases, presenters can just navigate to the URL of their project, and take the audience through some of its features. Whether presenters are using slides or a URL, you should have the visual aids loaded before beginning the shorts. If you’ve collected URLs beforehand, using a blog post or a spreadsheet, you can open them all in a series of browser tabs before the shorts begin, so that people can move right through their presentations without hitches.

Allow for a cushion of time at the beginning of the session for last-minute signers-up to load their URLs, and for people using PowerPoints to transfer them onto the presentation computer.

Not planning Dork Shorts

Many organizers don’t ask for presenters for Dork Shorts beforehand at all: they just allot a time for Dork Shorts, set up a whiteboard or piece of paper, then explain what Dork Shorts are and ask people to sign up — just like an open mic.

Even if you have a good list of committed presenters, you should also encourage last-minute joiners. People often don’t realize until they see the session in action that the project they’re working on would be an appropriate subject for a dork short.

Running your dork shorts

Time is of the essence. Keeping dork shorts to either two or three minutes in length allows more people to present, and promotes the kind of informality that you want to encourage. To that end, somebody should keep time and act as enforcer. Some THATCamps have used a noisemaker (a bell, the buzzer from a game of Taboo, a kazoo, an iPad or iPhone timer) to signal the end of each talk; this touch of ridiculousness keeps it light.

RCHN Mellon Mellon