Coordonner avec d'autres événements

a tricycle built for two - Susan Sermoneta

Bref

It’s a good idea to check the Calendrier ThatCamp pour voir si il ya d'autres THATCamps organisées près de la vôtre en même temps: you probably don’t want your THATCamp to compete for participants with another THATCamp. It’s also a good idea to see what’s on the Numérique Conférences Calendrier sur l' date you’re thinking of, mais dans ce cas vous pouvez décider de planifier votre ThatCamp près d'un autre événement de sorte que les participants puissent aller à la fois. Également, Ces dernières années, plusieurs comités de programme de réunions traditionnelles savantes ont décidé d'avoir un ThatCamp dans le cadre de leur conférence, généralement sous forme de pré-conférence, et cette page contient des conseils sur la coordination d'une ThatCamp par une réunion scientifique.

Pourquoi THATCamps prendre de bonnes pré-conférence

Les participants rapportent que ces THATCamps pré-conférence permettra de collégialité et de la collaboration au sein de l'espace parfois solitaire d'une grande conférence scientifique; permettent de parler de sujets d'actualité, due to the unconference format’s flexibility, tout en permettant un jeu plus axé sur les discussions que dans un ThatCamp régionale; et faciliter les contacts entre les membres actuels de l'organisation et non-membres de la zone locale qui sont intéressés par le sujet à portée de main (entraînant parfois des recrutements de nouveaux membres de l'organisation).

Des exemples de THATCamps comme pré-conférences

Conseils sur THATCamps et de rencontres scientifiques

Compte tenu de la nouvelle popularité de la non-conférence-côtés-le-conférence modèle, quelques conseils sur la meilleure façon de planifier et d'organiser ces THATCamps peut être utile.

Planification: L'expérience passée a montré que la tenue de votre ThatCamp comme une affaire d'une journée, immédiatement précédente à la conférence régulière, est préférable. Faire le ThatCamp tout plus d'une journée peut conduire à une surcharge de conférence; la planification d'une ThatCamp en concurrence avec des séances régulières de conférence peut signifier la faible participation. Si vous souhaitez organiser des ateliers à votre ThatCamp, ainsi que des séances de (un objectif qui conduit généralement à deux jours THATCamps), it’s possible to create a workshop « piste » qui peut fonctionner en marge des sessions.

Planning: Scholarly associations interested in holding THATCamps should make sure that at least one person who’s been to an unconference is involved in the planning. Idéalement, the THATCamp organizers should include at least one or two members of the organization’s program committee, aux côtés de quelques érudits locaux / étudiants / professionnels / junkies ThatCamp. Rappelez-vous que, selon des règles ThatCamp, vous pouvez’t charge more than a $30 frais, et vous avez à jeter les portes ouvertes pour tout le monde, pas seulement les membres de votre organisation. (En pratique, de nombreux participants ont tendance à être membres de l'organisation.)

Emplacement: THATCamps besoin d'au moins 4-5 salles de repos, tous avec wifi, et de préférence aussi avec des projecteurs. Comme nous l'avons conseiller à ceux d'un emplacement de fixation pour une « régulier » THATCamp, rappelez-vous que payer un hôtel, comme l'hôtel de la conférence, pour fournir l'espace peut être prohibitif. It’s better to try to locate a nearby university or library or sympathetic company to provide space (puis, of course, pour offrir à vos participants avec les directions copieuses pour les aider à naviguer entre le lieu de la conférence principale et le site ThatCamp).

Présence: Assurez-vous que registrees savent qu'ils doivent planifier de passer la journée entière à la ThatCamp. Mettre en place un calendrier vierge avec des espaces réservés pour les sessions, pauses, etc, de sorte que les gens sachent quand les choses vont se dérouler. Insistez sur le fait que, pour un ThatCamp court comme celui-ci, se présenter à la session de planification du matin est particulièrement important. Soyez particulièrement directe sur la nécessité de proposer des sessions à l'avance, et de commenter et de discuter de ces propositions de séances sur le blog ThatCamp. Ceci est important pour tous les THATCamps, mais plus particulièrement pour celles-ci plus courte, affaires les plus concentrées.

RCHN Mellon Mellon

Coordinate with other events

a tricycle built for two - Susan Sermoneta

In brief

It’s a good idea to check the THATCamp Calendar to see whether there are other THATCamps being held near yours at the same time: you probably don’t want your THATCamp to compete for participants with another THATCamp. It’s also a good idea to see what’s on the Digital Conferences Calendar on the date you’re thinking of, but in that case you may decide to plan your THATCamp near another event so that participants can go to both. Also, in recent years several program committees of traditional scholarly meetings have decided to have a THATCamp in conjunction with their conference, usually as pre-conference events, and this page has tips on coordinating a THATCamp with a scholarly meeting.

Why THATCamps make good pre-conference events

Attendees report that these pre-conference THATCamps allow for increased collegiality and collaboration within the sometimes lonely space of a big scholarly conference; make it possible to talk about current topics, due to the unconference format’s flexibility, while also allowing for a more focused set of discussions than at a regional THATCamp; and facilitate contact between current members of the organization and non-members from the local area who are interested in the subject at hand (sometimes resulting in recruitments of new organization members).

Examples of THATCamps as pre-conferences

Tips on THATCamps and scholarly meetings

Given the new popularity of the unconference-alongside-the-conference model, a few tips on the best way to schedule and hold these THATCamps may come in handy.

Scheduling: Past experience has shown that holding your THATCamp as a one-day affair, immediately previous to the regular conference, is best. Making the THATCamp any longer than a day can result in conference overload; scheduling a THATCamp in competition with regular conference sessions can mean poor attendance. If you wish to hold workshops at your THATCamp, as well as sessions (a goal that usually leads to two-day THATCamps), it’s possible to create a workshop “track” that can run alongside the sessions.

Planning: Scholarly associations interested in holding THATCamps should make sure that at least one person who’s been to an unconference is involved in the planning. Ideally, the THATCamp organizers should include at least one or two members of the organization’s program committee, alongside a few local scholars/students/professionals/THATCamp junkies. Remember that, according to THATCamp rules, you can’t charge more than a $30 fee, and you have to throw the doors open to everyone, not just members of your organization. (In practice, many attendees will tend to be organization members.)

Location: THATCamps need at least 4-5 breakout rooms, all with wifi, and preferably also with projectors. As we advise to those securing a location for a “regular” THATCamp, remember that paying a hotel, like the conference hotel, to provide space can be prohibitively expensive. It’s better to try to locate a nearby university or library or sympathetic company to provide space (then, of course, to provide your attendees with copious directions to help them navigate between the main conference location and the THATCamp site).

Attendance: Make sure that registrees know that they should plan on spending the whole day at the THATCamp. Put up a blank schedule with placeholders for the sessions, breaks, etc, so that people know when things will take place. Emphasize the fact that, for a short THATCamp like this one, showing up at the morning scheduling session is particularly important. Be particularly direct about the need to propose sessions ahead of time, and to comment upon and discuss these session proposals on the THATCamp blog. This is important for all THATCamps, but particularly so for these shorter, more concentrated affairs.

RCHN Mellon Mellon