协调与其他事件

a tricycle built for two - Susan Sermoneta

在短暂的

这是一个好主意,检查 list of THATCamps 看是否有是其他THATCamps,你在附近举行的同时: 你可能不希望您的THATCamp为参加与其他THATCamp的竞争. 这也是一个好主意,看看什么 数字会议日历日期 你想的, 但在这种情况下,你可能会决定计划您的THATCamp,附近的另一个事件,让参与者可以同时去. 还, 近年来,一些传统的学术会议的程序委员会已决定有一个THATCamp,在与他们的会议, 通常会前活动, 本页面上协调一个THATCamp的一个学术会议的提示.

,为什么THATCamps做好会前活动

的与会者报告这些会议前THATCamps的允许增加共事和合作的一大学术会议在有时寂寞的空间; 使人们有可能谈论当前主题, 由于非会议格式的灵活性, 同时还支持比在一个区域THATCamp的一个更集中的讨论; 和促进当前组织的成员和非成员从当地感兴趣的主题,在手之间的接触 (有时会造成在招聘新的组织成员).

预会议的THATCamps作为实施例

THATCamps和学术会议上的提示

鉴于新的流行的非会议旁边的会议模式, 最好的方式来安排和持有这些THATCamps,可能会派上用场的一些技巧.

调度: 过去的经验表明,作为一个为期一天的事牵着你的​​THATCamp, 紧接在例行记者会上前, 是最好的. 以上的THATCamp任何时间超过一天的,可能会导致超负荷会议“; 在竞争中定期会议调度THATCamp差出席. 如果你想举办讲习班在您的THATCamp, 以及会议 (一个目标,通常会导致为期两天的THATCamps), 它可以创建一个车间 “追踪” 旁边的会议,可以运行.

规划: 学术协会应确保持有THATCamps感兴趣的,至少有一人谁是被一个非会议参与规划. 理想的情况下, THATCamp组织者组织的程序委员会的成员应包括至少一个或两个, 一些本地学者/学生/专业/ THATCamp迷们一起. 请记住,, 根据,以THATCamp的规则, 你不能收取超过一 $30 费, 你不得不放弃的门向所有人开放,, 不只是贵组织的成员. (在实践中, 许多与会者将趋向于组织成员。)

位置: THATCamps至少需要 4-5 分组讨论室, 所有带wifi, 最好也有投影仪. 正如我们 那些固定位置的适合 “定期” THATCamp, 记得酒店支付, 希望会议酒店, 提供了空间,可昂贵. 这是更好地尝试找到一个附近的大学或图书馆或同情的公司提供了空间 (然后, 当然, 您的与会者提供了丰富的方向来帮助他们之间的主要会议的位置和THATCamp的的网站).

勤: 确保,registrees知道,他们应该计划上花了一整天的THATCamp的. 提出了一个空白的时间表,为会议的占位符, 休息, 等, 让人们知道什么时候事情会发生. 强调一个事实,, 像这样的短THATCamp, 在早上调度会议就显得尤为重要. Be particularly direct about the participants’ responsibility to to propose sessions.

RCHN Mellon Mellon

Coordinate with other events

a tricycle built for two - Susan Sermoneta

In brief

It’s a good idea to check the THATCamp Calendar to see whether there are other THATCamps being held near yours at the same time: you probably don’t want your THATCamp to compete for participants with another THATCamp. It’s also a good idea to see what’s on the Digital Conferences Calendar on the date you’re thinking of, but in that case you may decide to plan your THATCamp near another event so that participants can go to both. Also, in recent years several program committees of traditional scholarly meetings have decided to have a THATCamp in conjunction with their conference, usually as pre-conference events, and this page has tips on coordinating a THATCamp with a scholarly meeting.

Why THATCamps make good pre-conference events

Attendees report that these pre-conference THATCamps allow for increased collegiality and collaboration within the sometimes lonely space of a big scholarly conference; make it possible to talk about current topics, due to the unconference format’s flexibility, while also allowing for a more focused set of discussions than at a regional THATCamp; and facilitate contact between current members of the organization and non-members from the local area who are interested in the subject at hand (sometimes resulting in recruitments of new organization members).

Examples of THATCamps as pre-conferences

Tips on THATCamps and scholarly meetings

Given the new popularity of the unconference-alongside-the-conference model, a few tips on the best way to schedule and hold these THATCamps may come in handy.

Scheduling: Past experience has shown that holding your THATCamp as a one-day affair, immediately previous to the regular conference, is best. Making the THATCamp any longer than a day can result in conference overload; scheduling a THATCamp in competition with regular conference sessions can mean poor attendance. If you wish to hold workshops at your THATCamp, as well as sessions (a goal that usually leads to two-day THATCamps), it’s possible to create a workshop “track” that can run alongside the sessions.

Planning: Scholarly associations interested in holding THATCamps should make sure that at least one person who’s been to an unconference is involved in the planning. Ideally, the THATCamp organizers should include at least one or two members of the organization’s program committee, alongside a few local scholars/students/professionals/THATCamp junkies. Remember that, according to THATCamp rules, you can’t charge more than a $30 fee, and you have to throw the doors open to everyone, not just members of your organization. (In practice, many attendees will tend to be organization members.)

Location: THATCamps need at least 4-5 breakout rooms, all with wifi, and preferably also with projectors. As we advise to those securing a location for a “regular” THATCamp, remember that paying a hotel, like the conference hotel, to provide space can be prohibitively expensive. It’s better to try to locate a nearby university or library or sympathetic company to provide space (then, of course, to provide your attendees with copious directions to help them navigate between the main conference location and the THATCamp site).

Attendance: Make sure that registrees know that they should plan on spending the whole day at the THATCamp. Put up a blank schedule with placeholders for the sessions, breaks, etc, so that people know when things will take place. Emphasize the fact that, for a short THATCamp like this one, showing up at the morning scheduling session is particularly important. Be particularly direct about the need to propose sessions ahead of time, and to comment upon and discuss these session proposals on the THATCamp blog. This is important for all THATCamps, but particularly so for these shorter, more concentrated affairs.

RCHN Mellon Mellon