Sur

Qu'est-ce qu'un THATCamp?

THATCamp signifie «Le camp de sciences humaines et de la technologie." Il s'agit d'une non-conférence: un ouvert, peu coûteux réunion où les humanistes et les technologues de tous les niveaux de compétences à apprendre et à construire ensemble à des séances proposé sur place. Une non-conférence est une conférence ce séminaire est d'une conférence, ce qu'est une fête à votre maison est à un mariage à l'église, Quel jeu pick-up de Ultimate Frisbee est à un match de NBA, ce qu'est un jam band est un orchestre symphonique: il est plus informel et plus participative. Voici les principales caractéristiques d'un THATCamp:

  • It’s collaborative: il n'ya pas de spectateurs à un THATCamp. Tout le monde participe, y compris dans la tâche de fixer un programme ou un programme.
  • It’s informal: il n'y a pas de longues propositions, papiers, présentations, ou démonstrations de produits. L'accent est mis sur productive, travail collégial ou forme libre discussion.
  • It’s spontaneous and timely, avec l'ordre du jour / calendrier / programme étant majoritairement ou entièrement créé par tous les participants lors de la première session de la première journée, plutôt que des semaines ou des mois à l'avance par un comité de programme.
  • It’s productive: les participants sont encouragés à utiliser le temps de session pour créer, construire, écrire, entaille, et résoudre les problèmes.
  • It’s lightweight and inexpensive to organiser: nous estimons généralement que THATCamp prend environ 100 heures au cours de six mois et environ $4000.
  • It’s not-for-profit and either free or inexpensive (sous $30) pour assister à: it’s funded by small sponsorships, dons de l'espace et du travail, et en passant le chapeau autour des participants.
  • It’s small, ayant n'importe où à partir de 25 or 50 à environ 150 participants: la plupart des THATCamps visent environ 75 participants.
  • It’s non-hierarchical and non-disciplinary and inter-professional: THATCamps étudiants des cycles supérieurs de bienvenue, scholars, librarians, archivists, professionnels des musées, les développeurs et les programmeurs, K-12 enseignants, administrateurs, gestionnaires, et les bailleurs de fonds ainsi que les gens du secteur à but non lucratif, personnes du secteur à but lucratif, et les amateurs intéressés. Le sujet « les sciences humaines et la technologie » contient une multitude.
  • It’s open and online: participants assurez-vous de partager leurs notes, documents, pictures, et d'autres matériaux de discussions thatcamp avant et après l'événement sur le web et via les réseaux sociaux.
  • It’s fun, intellectuellement engagement, et un peu épuisant.

Qu'est-ce qu'un "non-conférence"?

La plus courte réponse est: une non-conférence est une conférence très informelle. Deux différences sont particulièrement notable. Première, à une non-conférence, the program isn’t set beforehand: it’s created on the first day with the help of all the participants rather than beforehand by a program committee. Deuxième, à une non-conférence, il n'ya pas de présentations — tous les participants à une non-conférence sont censés parler et travailler avec les autres participants à chaque session. Une non-conférence est une conférence ce séminaire est d'une conférence; aller à une non-conférence, c'est comme être membre d'une troupe d'improvisation où aller à une conférence (surtout) comme étant un membre d'une audience. Unconferences sont également libres ou pas cher et ouverte à tous. Pour plus d'informations, voir Wikipedia’s entry on the unconference.

Certains disent que la première non-conférence était BarCamp, qui est le modèle pour THATCamp. En savoir plus sur BarCamp à barcamp.org, radar.oreilly.com/2005/08/bar-camp.html, et en.wikipedia.org / wiki / BarCamp.

Qui devrait participer?

N'importe qui avec une énergie et un intérêt pour les sciences humaines et / ou de la technologie.

Quelles sont « les sciences humaines »?

Bonne question. Turns out there’s a legal definition! Comme le National Endowment for the Humanities il met:

Selon l' 1965 Fondation nationale des arts et de la Loi humaines, « Le terme ‘sciences humaines’ comprend, mais n'est pas limité à, l'étude de ce qui suit: langue, à la fois moderne et classique; linguistics; literature; history; jurisprudence; philosophy; archaeology; religion comparative; ethics; l'histoire, critique et théorie des arts; les aspects des sciences sociales qui ont un contenu humaniste et emploient des méthodes humanistes; et l'étude et l'application des sciences humaines à l'environnement humain avec une attention particulière à la réflexion de notre patrimoine diversifié, traditions, et de l'histoire et de la pertinence des sciences humaines aux conditions actuelles de la vie nationale. »

What is « technologie »?

Nous vous suggérons de lire cet article brillant par le professeur Leo Marx, Historien de la culture américaine à l'Institut de Technologie du Massachusetts: « Technology: L'émergence d'un concept dangereux. » (Side note: ceux qui aiment la technologie devraient être ceux qui sont les plus conscients de ses dangers.)

Que dois-je proposer?

Séances à THATCamp habituellement gamme de discussions générales (Parlez sessions) à hackathons ou writeathons basés sur des projets (Faire sessions) à des ateliers de compétences technologiques (Enseigner sessions) à des expériences diverses (Jouez sessions). Il devrait y avoir aucun document à part entière; nous ne sommes pas ici pour lire ou lire à. Voir la liste des sessions d'échantillonnage à thatcamp.org / propositions / pour des idées, ou venir avec une idée créative de vos propres pour un genre de session ou un sujet. Idéalement, vous devriez venir à THATCamp avec quelque chose à l'esprit, et le premier jour trouver un moment, un endroit, et les gens de la partager avec.

Est un THATCamp seulement pour les chercheurs / étudiants diplômés / librarians / archivists / programmeurs / technologues pédagogiques? Can chercheurs / étudiants diplômés / librarians / archivists / programmeurs / technologues pédagogiques s'appliquent?

Non à la première, oui à la seconde. THATCamp vise à la plus grande diversité de milieux et de compétences possibles.

Je’m poor. Comment puis-je obtenir des fonds pour se rendre à THATCamp?

Certains participants universitaires ont mentionné que leurs universités ne financera aucune Voyage moins pour but de présenter un document, et comme il n'y a pas de présentations et sans papiers à THATCamp, ils ne peuvent pas venir à THATCamp. Nous avons quelques suggestions.

  • Première, vous pourriez offrir à enseigner un atelier à THATCamp, qui est indéniablement une présentation d'une sorte (si nous vous recommandons d'inclure des exercices pratiques ainsi); ateliers ne doivent pas se concentrer exclusivement sur « dur » compétences technologiques, mais ne peut répondre « doux » compétences telles que la pédagogie ou la gestion de projet. Également, if it accords with the spirit of your institution’s policy, vous pourriez décider de classer votre bien écrit session proposal et la session d'accompagnement vous facilitera tant que document de conférence.
  • Deuxième, vous pouvez cadrer votre voyage à ThatCamp que « professional development, » si une telle catégorie existe dans votre organisation — venir à ThatCamp est certainement beaucoup plus d'une expérience d'apprentissage d'une expérience ostentation.
  • Troisième, vous pourriez attendre un THATCamp à apparaître à proximité de sorte que Voyage sera pas cher: vous pouvez inscrivez-vous pour être averti des nouveaux THATCamps par email.
  • Quatrième, quelques THATCamps offrent des bourses — n'oubliez pas de consulter différents sites ThatCamp pour voir s'il ya des fonds de bourses disponibles.
  • Cinquième, vous pourriez envisager de simplement l'organisation de votre propre THATCamp — de cette façon, le monde devra venir à vous.

Comment puis-je organiser mon propre THATCamp?

There’s plenty of advice for THATCamp organizers in nos documents d'aide. After you’ve read through that and looked through some old THATCamp websites in our Annuaire ThatCamp (essayez de filtrer pour « Passé » THATCamps), pourquoi alors vous pouvez aller droit devant et enregistrer un nouveau THATCamp.

Tous les organisateurs de THATCamp doivent se engager à respecter THATCamp politiques, qui comprennent une politique anti-harcèlement. Voir aussi « Est mon cas un THATCamp » ci-dessous. »

Est un organisme sans but lucratif THATCamp?

Aucun, THATCamp n'est pas un but non lucratif enregistrée; il n'a pas d'existence officielle de l'organisation. The « THATCamp » nom et le logo sont des marques déposées; la marque a été détenu à l'origine par l'Université George Mason (qui lui-même est bien sûr un but non lucratif) mais il a été transféré (en 2015) au Société d'érudition numérique. La marque permet de contrôler qui peut utiliser le « THATCamp » nom et logo, mais ils sont autorisés à quiconque accepte la (facile) Conditions sur notre Registre page. (Voir aussi ci-dessous.) Chaque THATCamp augmente ses fonds propres, recrute ses volontaires, et est géré à sa manière. THATCamp est hyper-décentralisée: le seul employé de THATCamp à temps plein a jamais été Dr. Amanda français, Coordinateur THATCamp pour 2010-2014. Son salaire a été payé par une subvention de la Mellon Foundation. Tout le code d'origine est THATCamp Sous licence GNU GPL, et tout le texte d'origine THATCamp, images, l'audio,en, et la vidéo sont Creative Commons sous licence.

Est mon cas un THATCamp?

Le terme « THATCamp, » comme mentionné ci-dessus, est une marque déposée par le Centre d'histoire de Roy Rosenzweig et les nouveaux médias. RRCHNM allows you to call your event a THATCamp as long as you enregistrer et accepter les termes, qui sont comme suit:

Je suis d'accord que notre ThatCamp sera…

  • Gratuit ou bon marché à assister à (frais d'inscription à $30 USD sont très bien)
  • Ouvert à toute personne qui désire demander ou vous inscrire (aucune inscription limiter aux membres d'une institution particulière, association, organization, discipline, ou le rang)
  • PUBLIC sur le web ouvert (sessions peuvent être blogué, twitté, photographié, enregistré, et affiché)
  • D'auto-organisation (pas de comité de programme: tous les participants seront ainsi mis l'ordre du jour, soit avant, soit pendant le anticonférence)
  • Participative et spontanée (la plupart des séances sont des discussions de groupe, sessions co-travail productives, ou des collaborations joyeux de toute nature; il devrait y avoir peu ou pas préparés, monologuing présentations, papiers, ou des démonstrations à l'exception des ateliers de formation des compétences, et même des ateliers devraient généralement permettre des exercices pratiques par le groupe)
  • CHANCE pour et accueillant à tous les participants; THATCamps sont tenus d'adopter notre politique anti-harcèlement et à respecter ses procédures.

THATCamp websites need not be hosted on thatcamp.org, although we do ask that you register it here: see our page on THATCamp websites for how to build a standalone THATCamp and redirect a thatcamp.org domain to it, or contact us for help. THATCamps need not be hosted by nonprofit organizations. As long as your event meets the six criteria listed above, you are free to call it a THATCamp.

Comment puis-je parrainer THATCamp?

Commandites sont disponibles pour les entreprises et les organismes sans but lucratif. Voir notre page Sponsors pour une liste des sponsors THATCamp passées et pour plus d'informations sur les avantages du parrainage THATCamp.

D'autres questions sur THATCamp? Affichez-les sur l' Thatcamp forums et quelqu'un de la communauté vous répondra dans quelques jours.

RCHN Mellon Mellon

About

What is a THATCamp?

THATCamp stands for “The Humanities and Technology Camp.” It is an unconference: an open, inexpensive meeting where humanists and technologists of all skill levels learn and build together in sessions proposed on the spot. An unconference is to a conference what a seminar is to a lecture, what a party at your house is to a church wedding, what a pick-up game of Ultimate Frisbee is to an NBA game, what a jam band is to a symphony orchestra: it’s more informal and more participatory. Here are the key characteristics of a THATCamp:

  • It’s collaborative: there are no spectators at a THATCamp. Everyone participates, including in the task of setting an agenda or program.
  • It’s informal: there are no lengthy proposals, papers, presentations, or product demos. The emphasis is on productive, collegial work or free-form discussion.
  • It’s spontaneous and timely, with the agenda / schedule / program being mostly or entirely created by all the participants during the first session of the first day, rather than weeks or months beforehand by a program committee.
  • It’s productive: participants are encouraged to use session time to create, build, write, hack, and solve problems.
  • It’s lightweight and inexpensive to organize: we generally estimate that a THATCamp takes about 100 hours over the course of six months and about $4000.
  • It’s not-for-profit and either free or inexpensive (under $30) to attend: it’s funded by small sponsorships, donations of space and labor, and by passing the hat around to the participants.
  • It’s small, having anywhere from 25 or 50 to about 150 participants: most THATCamps aim for about 75 participants.
  • It’s non-hierarchical and non-disciplinary and inter-professional: THATCamps welcome graduate students, scholars, librarians, archivists, museum professionals, developers and programmers, K-12 teachers, administrators, managers, and funders as well as people from the non-profit sector, people from the for-profit sector, and interested amateurs. The topic “the humanities and technology” contains multitudes.
  • It’s open and online: participants make sure to share their notes, documents, pictures, and other materials from THATCamp discussions before and after the event on the web and via social media.
  • It’s fun, intellectually engaging, and a little exhausting.

What is an “unconference”?

The shortest answer is this: an unconference is a highly informal conference. Two differences are particularly notable. First, at an unconference, the program isn’t set beforehand: it’s created on the first day with the help of all the participants rather than beforehand by a program committee. Second, at an unconference, there are no presentations — all participants in an unconference are expected to talk and work with fellow participants in every session. An unconference is to a conference what a seminar is to a lecture; going to an unconference is like being a member of an improv troupe where going to a conference is (mostly) like being a member of an audience. Unconferences are also free or cheap and open to all. For more information, see Wikipedia’s entry on the unconference.

Some say that the first unconference was BarCamp, which is the model for THATCamp. Read more about BarCamp at barcamp.org, radar.oreilly.com/2005/08/bar-camp.html, and en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BarCamp.

Who should attend?

Anyone with energy and an interest in the humanities and/or technology.

What are “the humanities”?

Good question. Turns out there’s a legal definition! As the National Endowment for the Humanities puts it:

According to the 1965 National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities Act, “The term ‘humanities’ includes, but is not limited to, the study of the following: language, both modern and classical; linguistics; literature; history; jurisprudence; philosophy; archaeology; comparative religion; ethics; the history, criticism and theory of the arts; those aspects of social sciences which have humanistic content and employ humanistic methods; and the study and application of the humanities to the human environment with particular attention to reflecting our diverse heritage, traditions, and history and to the relevance of the humanities to the current conditions of national life.”

What is “technology”?

We suggest you read this brilliant article by Professor Leo Marx, American cultural historian at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology: “Technology: The Emergence of a Hazardous Concept.” (Side note: those who love technology should be those who are most aware of its hazards.)

What should I propose?

Sessions at THATCamp usually range from general discussions (Talk sessions) to project-based hackathons or writeathons (Make sessions) to technology skills workshops (Teach sessions) to miscellaneous experiments (Play sessions). There should be no full-blown papers; we’re not here to read or be read to. See the list of sample sessions at thatcamp.org/proposals/ for ideas, or come up with a creative idea of your own for a session genre or topic. Ideally, you should come to THATCamp with something in mind, and on the first day find a time, a place, and people to share it with.

Is a THATCamp only for scholars / grad students / librarians / archivists / programmers / instructional technologists? Can scholars / grad students / librarians / archivists / programmers / instructional technologists apply?

No to the first, yes to the second. THATCamp aims at the broadest diversity of backgrounds and skills possible.

I’m poor. How can I get funds to travel to THATCamp?

Some academic participants have mentioned that their universities will not fund any travel unless for the purpose of presenting a paper, and since there are no presentations and no papers at THATCamp, they cannot come to THATCamp. We have a few suggestions.

  • First, you might offer to teach a workshop at THATCamp, which is undeniably a presentation of a sort (though we recommend that you include hands-on exercises as well); workshops need not focus exclusively on “hard” tech skills, but can address “soft” skills such as pedagogy or project management. Also, if it accords with the spirit of your institution’s policy, you might decide to classify your well-written session proposal and the accompanying session you will facilitate as a conference paper.
  • Second, you might frame your trip to THATCamp as “professional development,” if such a category exists at your organization — coming to THATCamp is definitely much more of a learning experience than a showing-off experience.
  • Third, you might wait for a THATCamp to pop up nearby so that travel will be cheap: you can sign up to be notified of new THATCamps by email.
  • Fourth, a few THATCamps offer fellowships — be sure to check individual THATCamp sites to see if there are fellowship funds available.
  • Fifth, you might consider simply organizing your own THATCamp — that way, the world will have to come to you.

How do I organize my own THATCamp?

There’s plenty of advice for THATCamp organizers in our Help documents. After you’ve read through that and looked through some old THATCamp websites in our THATCamp Directory (try filtering for “Past” THATCamps), why then you can go right ahead and register a new THATCamp.

Is THATCamp a nonprofit organization?

No, THATCamp is not a registered nonprofit; it has no official organizational existence. The “THATCamp” name and logo are trademarked by George Mason University (which is itself of course a nonprofit). The Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University retains the rights to say who can use the “THATCamp” name and logo, but we basically license them to anyone who agrees to the (easy) terms on our Registry page. (See also below.) Each THATCamp raises its own funds, recruits its own volunteers, and is run in its own manner. THATCamp is hyper-decentralized: the only full-time THATCamp employee ever was Dr. Amanda French, THATCamp Coordinator for 2010-2014. Her salary was paid for by a grant from the Mellon Foundation. All original THATCamp code is GNU-licensed, and all original THATCamp text, images, audio, and video are Creative Commons-licensed.

Is my event a THATCamp?

The term “THATCamp,” as mentioned above, is trademarked by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media. You can call your event a THATCamp as long as you register it and agree to the terms, which are as follows:

I agree that our THATCamp will be…

  • FREE or CHEAP to attend (registration fees of up to $30 USD are fine)
  • OPEN to anyone who wishes to apply or register (no restricting registration to members of a particular institution, association, organization, discipline, or rank)
  • PUBLIC on the open web (sessions can be blogged, twittered, photographed, recorded, and posted)
  • SELF-ORGANIZING (no program committee: all participants together will set the agenda, either before or during the unconference)
  • PARTICIPATORY and spontaneous (most sessions are group discussions, productive co-working sessions, or joyous collaborations of any kind; there should be few if any prepared, monologuing presentations, papers, or demonstrations with the exception of skills training workshops, and even workshops should generally allow for hands-on exercises by the group)

How do I sponsor THATCamp?

Sponsorships are available to corporations and non-profits. See our Sponsors page for a list of past THATCamp sponsors and for more information about the benefits of sponsoring THATCamp.

Any other questions about THATCamp? Post them on the THATCamp forums and someone from the community will reply within a couple of days.

RCHN Mellon Mellon