关于

什么是一个THATCamp的?

THATCamp代表“的人文和科技夏令营​​。”这是一个非会议: 一个开放的, 便宜的会议上,所有技能水平的人文主义者和技术人员的学习和共同建立的会话当场提出. 一个非会议是会议的一个研讨会演讲, 什么是党在你的房子是一个教堂婚礼, 什么回升的极限飞盘比赛是一场NBA比赛, 是什么果酱乐队交响乐团: 更重要的是非正式的和更多的参与. 这里的关键的THATCamp特点:

  • 这是协作: 有没有观众在THATCamp. 每个人都参与, 包括设置议程或程序的任务.
  • 这是非正式的: 有没有冗长的建议, 文件, 简报, 或产品演示. 重点是对生产, 合议庭工作或自由形式的讨论.
  • 这是自发的和及时的, 与议程 / 时间表 / 大部分或全部程序创建的所有参与者在第一届会议的第一天, 而不是几周或几个月事先由程序委员会.
  • 这是生产力: 鼓励学员使用会话的时间来创建, 建立, 写, 破解, 问题和解决问题.
  • 它重量轻,廉价的 组织: 我们一般估计,需要大约一个THATCamp 100 小时以上的六个月,约 $4000.
  • 这是不以营利为目的,免费或廉价的 (下 $30) 出席: 它由小赞助, 接受捐赠的空间和劳动力, 通过这顶帽子周围的参与者.
  • 这是小, 有从任何地方 25 或 50 约 150 参与者: 大多数的THATCamps的目标有关 75 参与者.
  • 它的非分层和非学科和跨专业: THATCamps欢迎研究生, 学者, 图书馆员, 档案馆, 博物馆专业人士, 开发人员和程序员, K-12教师, 管理员, 经理, 和资助者以及非营利部门, 人以营利为目的的部门, 感兴趣的业余爱好者. 该主题 “人文与科技” 包含许多.
  • 它是开放的和在线: 参加者一定要分享自己的笔记, 文件, 图片, 从THATCamp之前和之后的事件在网络上的讨论,并通过社会化媒体和其他材料.
  • 它的乐趣, 智力参与, 和一点点耗尽.

什么是“非会议”?

最简短的回答是这样的: 一个非会议是一个非正式会议. 两个差异特别显着. 第一, 在非会议, 没有预先设定的程序: 它的创建的第一天,由程序委员会的帮助下,所有的参与者,而不是事先. 第二, 在非会议, 有没有演示 — 谈,并与参加会议的所有参与者在非会议 在每一次会议. 一个非会议是会议的一个研讨会演讲; 要一个非会议就像是一个即兴剧团的成员会议 (大多) 就像是观众的一员. 的Unconferences也免费或廉价,开放给所有. 欲了解更多信息, 看 维基百科的条目的非会议.

有人说,第一个非会议BarCamp, 这是模型THATCamp. 了解更多关于BarCamp barcamp.org, radar.oreilly.com/2005/08/bar-camp.html, 和 en.wikipedia.org /维基/ BarCamp.

谁应该参加?

任何人都与能源和人文科学和/或技术的兴趣.

是什么 “人文学科”?

好问题. 原来有一个法律上的定义! 作为国家人文基金会将:

根据本 1965 国家艺术基金会与人文法, ““人文’ 包括, 但并不限于, 研究下面的: 语, 现代和古典; 语言学; 文学; 历史; 法理; 哲学; 考古; 比较宗教学; 道德; 历史, 艺术批评和理论; 这些方面的社会科学,人文内涵,并采用人性化的方法; 和人文科学的研究和应用给人类生存环境的特别关注反映了我们多样的文化遗产, 传统, 历史和相关的人文到国家生活的现况。”

什么是 “技术”?

我们建议您阅读这辉煌的教授利奥马克思的文章, 美国麻省理工学院的文化历史学家: “技术: 出现一个危险的概念。” (便笺: 那些热爱技术的人,应该是那些谁是最了解它的危害。)

我应该建议?

会议在通常范围THATCamp从一般性讨论 (谈话会议) 到的基于项目hackathons或writeathons (使会话) 技术技巧工作坊 (教会话) 杂项实验 (播放会话). 不应该有全面的论文; 我们这里不是为了阅读或阅读. 列表中的样品会在 thatcamp.org /建议/ 的想法, 或想出一个有创意的想法,自己的风格或主题的会话. 理想的情况下, 你应该记住的东西来THATCamp, 和在第一天找到一个时间, 一个地方, 与人分享.

是一个THATCamp只为学者 / 研究生 / 图书馆员 / 档案馆 / 程序员 / 教学技术专家? 能学者 / 研究生 / 图书馆员 / 档案馆 / 程序员 / 教学科技应用?

否到第一, 是第二. THATCamp的目的是在最广泛的多样性的背景和技能可能.

我是穷苦的。. 我怎样才能获得资金前往THATCamp?

一些学术参与者都提到,他们的大学不会支付任何旅游的目的上宣读论文,除非, 因为有没有介绍和没有文件THATCamp, 他们不能来THATCamp的. 我们有一些建议.

  • 第一, 你可以主动教研讨会在THATCamp, 这无疑是一个介绍的排序 (虽然我们建议您动手练习,以及包括); 研讨会不需要专注于 “硬” 高科技技能, 但可以解决 “软” 如教学或项目管理技能. 还, 如果它符合你的机构的政策精神, 您可能会决定你写得很好的分类 会话建议 及随附的会议将有利于作为一份会议文件.
  • 第二, 你可能帧您的旅行THATCamp作为 “职业发展,” 如果这样的类存在于你的组织 — 来THATCamp肯定要更多的学习经验,陈列经验.
  • 第三, 你可能会等待弹出一个THATCamp附近,以便旅游会便宜: 你可以 注册新THATCamps通过电子邮件通知.
  • 第四, 几个THATCamps提供奖学金 — 一定要检查个人THATCamp的网站,看看是否有奖学金的可用资金.
  • 第五, 你可能会考虑干脆 组织自己的THATCamp的 — 这种方式, 全球将有你来.

如何整理我自己的THATCamp?

有很多建议的THATCamp组织者 我们的帮助文档. 你读过之后,通过我们看​​着通过一些老THATCamp网站 THATCamp目录 (尝试过滤 “过去” THATCamps), 为什么那么你可以去进取, 注册一个新的THATCamp.

所有THATCamp组织者必须同意THATCamp遵守 政策, 其中包括反骚扰政策. 参见 “是我的事件THATCamp” 下文。”

是THATCamp的一个非盈利性组织?

不, 是不是一个注册的非营利性THATCamp; 它有没有正式的组织存在. 该 “THATCamp” 名称和标识是商标; 商标最初是由乔治·梅森大学举行 (这本身当然是一个非营利性的) 但已转移 (在 2015) 到 公司数字奖学金. 商标允许谁可以使用控制 “THATCamp” 名称和标志, 但他们被授权人谁同意的 (容易) 我们 注册处 页面. (另请参阅下文。) 每个THATCamp提高其自身的资金, 招募自己的志愿者, 并运行在它自己的方式. THATCamp超分散: 唯一的全职THATCamp员工曾是 博士. 阿曼达法国, 的THATCamp协调员 2010-2014. 她的工资支付的资助 梅隆基金会. 所有原始THATCamp代码 GNU授权, 和所有原始THATCamp文本, 图像, 音频, 和视频 风景持牌.

是我的事件THATCamp?

术语 “THATCamp,” 如上所述, 由罗伊·罗森茨维格历史中心和新媒体商标. RRCHNM allows you to call your event a THATCamp as long as you 注册 并同意条款, 如下:

我同意我们THATCamp会…

  • 免费或便宜出席的 (高达登记费 $30 美元的罚款)
  • 开到任何人谁希望申请或注册 (特定机构的成员没有限制注册, 协会, 组织, 纪律, 或秩)
  • 公众开放的网络上 (会话可以在博客, 吱吱喳喳, 拍下, 记录, 并张贴)
  • 自组织 (没有程序委员会: 所有参与者将共同制定议程, 之前或在非会议期间)
  • 参与性和自发性 (大部分会议是小组讨论, 生产合作工作会议, 或任何形式的合作欢畅; 应该有几乎没有任何准备, monologuing简报, 文件, 或示威除外技能培训班, 甚至工场一般应允许动手练习的组)
  • 外汇局和欢迎到所有参与者; THATCamps必须采用我们 反骚扰政策 并通过其遵守诉讼程序.

THATCamp websites need not be hosted on thatcamp.org, although we do ask that you register it here: see our page on THATCamp websites for how to build a standalone THATCamp and redirect a thatcamp.org domain to it, 或 contact us for help. THATCamps need not be hosted by nonprofit organizations. As long as your event meets the six criteria listed above, you are free to call it a THATCamp.

我怎么赞助THATCamp?

赞助企业和非利润. 看 我们的赞助商页面 的过去THATCamp赞助商的列表及详细信息,有关赞助THATCamp的好处.

关于THATCamp任何其他问题? 贴在 THATCamp论坛 有人从社会将在几天内作出答复.

RCHN Mellon Mellon

About

What is a THATCamp?

THATCamp stands for “The Humanities and Technology Camp.” It is an unconference: an open, inexpensive meeting where humanists and technologists of all skill levels learn and build together in sessions proposed on the spot. An unconference is to a conference what a seminar is to a lecture, what a party at your house is to a church wedding, what a pick-up game of Ultimate Frisbee is to an NBA game, what a jam band is to a symphony orchestra: it’s more informal and more participatory. Here are the key characteristics of a THATCamp:

  • It’s collaborative: there are no spectators at a THATCamp. Everyone participates, including in the task of setting an agenda or program.
  • It’s informal: there are no lengthy proposals, papers, presentations, or product demos. The emphasis is on productive, collegial work or free-form discussion.
  • It’s spontaneous and timely, with the agenda / schedule / program being mostly or entirely created by all the participants during the first session of the first day, rather than weeks or months beforehand by a program committee.
  • It’s productive: participants are encouraged to use session time to create, build, write, hack, and solve problems.
  • It’s lightweight and inexpensive to organize: we generally estimate that a THATCamp takes about 100 hours over the course of six months and about $4000.
  • It’s not-for-profit and either free or inexpensive (under $30) to attend: it’s funded by small sponsorships, donations of space and labor, and by passing the hat around to the participants.
  • It’s small, having anywhere from 25 or 50 to about 150 participants: most THATCamps aim for about 75 participants.
  • It’s non-hierarchical and non-disciplinary and inter-professional: THATCamps welcome graduate students, scholars, librarians, archivists, museum professionals, developers and programmers, K-12 teachers, administrators, managers, and funders as well as people from the non-profit sector, people from the for-profit sector, and interested amateurs. The topic “the humanities and technology” contains multitudes.
  • It’s open and online: participants make sure to share their notes, documents, pictures, and other materials from THATCamp discussions before and after the event on the web and via social media.
  • It’s fun, intellectually engaging, and a little exhausting.

What is an “unconference”?

The shortest answer is this: an unconference is a highly informal conference. Two differences are particularly notable. First, at an unconference, the program isn’t set beforehand: it’s created on the first day with the help of all the participants rather than beforehand by a program committee. Second, at an unconference, there are no presentations — all participants in an unconference are expected to talk and work with fellow participants in every session. An unconference is to a conference what a seminar is to a lecture; going to an unconference is like being a member of an improv troupe where going to a conference is (mostly) like being a member of an audience. Unconferences are also free or cheap and open to all. For more information, see Wikipedia’s entry on the unconference.

Some say that the first unconference was BarCamp, which is the model for THATCamp. Read more about BarCamp at barcamp.org, radar.oreilly.com/2005/08/bar-camp.html, and en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BarCamp.

Who should attend?

Anyone with energy and an interest in the humanities and/or technology.

What are “the humanities”?

Good question. Turns out there’s a legal definition! As the National Endowment for the Humanities puts it:

According to the 1965 National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities Act, “The term ‘humanities’ includes, but is not limited to, the study of the following: language, both modern and classical; linguistics; literature; history; jurisprudence; philosophy; archaeology; comparative religion; ethics; the history, criticism and theory of the arts; those aspects of social sciences which have humanistic content and employ humanistic methods; and the study and application of the humanities to the human environment with particular attention to reflecting our diverse heritage, traditions, and history and to the relevance of the humanities to the current conditions of national life.”

What is “technology”?

We suggest you read this brilliant article by Professor Leo Marx, American cultural historian at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology: “Technology: The Emergence of a Hazardous Concept.” (Side note: those who love technology should be those who are most aware of its hazards.)

What should I propose?

Sessions at THATCamp usually range from general discussions (Talk sessions) to project-based hackathons or writeathons (Make sessions) to technology skills workshops (Teach sessions) to miscellaneous experiments (Play sessions). There should be no full-blown papers; we’re not here to read or be read to. See the list of sample sessions at thatcamp.org/proposals/ for ideas, or come up with a creative idea of your own for a session genre or topic. Ideally, you should come to THATCamp with something in mind, and on the first day find a time, a place, and people to share it with.

Is a THATCamp only for scholars / grad students / librarians / archivists / programmers / instructional technologists? Can scholars / grad students / librarians / archivists / programmers / instructional technologists apply?

No to the first, yes to the second. THATCamp aims at the broadest diversity of backgrounds and skills possible.

I’m poor. How can I get funds to travel to THATCamp?

Some academic participants have mentioned that their universities will not fund any travel unless for the purpose of presenting a paper, and since there are no presentations and no papers at THATCamp, they cannot come to THATCamp. We have a few suggestions.

  • First, you might offer to teach a workshop at THATCamp, which is undeniably a presentation of a sort (though we recommend that you include hands-on exercises as well); workshops need not focus exclusively on “hard” tech skills, but can address “soft” skills such as pedagogy or project management. Also, if it accords with the spirit of your institution’s policy, you might decide to classify your well-written session proposal and the accompanying session you will facilitate as a conference paper.
  • Second, you might frame your trip to THATCamp as “professional development,” if such a category exists at your organization — coming to THATCamp is definitely much more of a learning experience than a showing-off experience.
  • Third, you might wait for a THATCamp to pop up nearby so that travel will be cheap: you can sign up to be notified of new THATCamps by email.
  • Fourth, a few THATCamps offer fellowships — be sure to check individual THATCamp sites to see if there are fellowship funds available.
  • Fifth, you might consider simply organizing your own THATCamp — that way, the world will have to come to you.

How do I organize my own THATCamp?

There’s plenty of advice for THATCamp organizers in our Help documents. After you’ve read through that and looked through some old THATCamp websites in our THATCamp Directory (try filtering for “Past” THATCamps), why then you can go right ahead and register a new THATCamp.

Is THATCamp a nonprofit organization?

No, THATCamp is not a registered nonprofit; it has no official organizational existence. The “THATCamp” name and logo are trademarked by George Mason University (which is itself of course a nonprofit). The Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University retains the rights to say who can use the “THATCamp” name and logo, but we basically license them to anyone who agrees to the (easy) terms on our Registry page. (See also below.) Each THATCamp raises its own funds, recruits its own volunteers, and is run in its own manner. THATCamp is hyper-decentralized: the only full-time THATCamp employee ever was Dr. Amanda French, THATCamp Coordinator for 2010-2014. Her salary was paid for by a grant from the Mellon Foundation. All original THATCamp code is GNU-licensed, and all original THATCamp text, images, audio, and video are Creative Commons-licensed.

Is my event a THATCamp?

The term “THATCamp,” as mentioned above, is trademarked by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media. You can call your event a THATCamp as long as you register it and agree to the terms, which are as follows:

I agree that our THATCamp will be…

  • FREE or CHEAP to attend (registration fees of up to $30 USD are fine)
  • OPEN to anyone who wishes to apply or register (no restricting registration to members of a particular institution, association, organization, discipline, or rank)
  • PUBLIC on the open web (sessions can be blogged, twittered, photographed, recorded, and posted)
  • SELF-ORGANIZING (no program committee: all participants together will set the agenda, either before or during the unconference)
  • PARTICIPATORY and spontaneous (most sessions are group discussions, productive co-working sessions, or joyous collaborations of any kind; there should be few if any prepared, monologuing presentations, papers, or demonstrations with the exception of skills training workshops, and even workshops should generally allow for hands-on exercises by the group)

How do I sponsor THATCamp?

Sponsorships are available to corporations and non-profits. See our Sponsors page for a list of past THATCamp sponsors and for more information about the benefits of sponsoring THATCamp.

Any other questions about THATCamp? Post them on the THATCamp forums and someone from the community will reply within a couple of days.

RCHN Mellon Mellon